Home   |    News
July 20, 2019
Kamil Mishara hits first century as Colombo beat Kandy – Dambulla in thrilling 2-run win over Galle

Sri Lanka Cricket


By Srian Obeyesekere

Kamil Mishara compiled a superb 152 to become the first centurion in the Sri Lanka Cricket Under-19 50-Over Provincial Tournament as Colombo pulled off a 95-run triumph over Kandy at the Pallekelle International Cricket Stadium on Thursday. It was Colombo’s second successive win.

Taking first lease, Colombo made 269 in 50 overs and dismissed Kandy for 174 in 38.2 overs with Chamidu Wijesinghe returning fine figures of 3 for 11 while Sonal Dinusha took 2 for 20. Gihan Rathnayake made 49 for Kandy.

Meanwhile, Dambulla registered a thrilling 2-run win over Galle in the Sri Lanka Cricket Under-19 50-Over Tournament match played at the Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium yesterday.

Batting first, Dambulla were all out for 223 in 46.2 overs and dismissed Galle for 221 in 49.4 overs. For Dambulla, Supun Sumanaratne top scored with 56 off 79 balls inclusive of 7 boundaries while Ravindu Rasantha made 53 off 59 containing 7 boundaries.

Sadum Mendis claimed 3 wickets for 55 runs for Galle while Navod Paranavithana took 2 for 29 and Kavindu Dilhara and Dumith Wellalage 2 for 38 each respectively.

Galle’s spirited victory bid was spearheaded by Pawan Rathnayaka who scored 54 off 68 balls inclusive of 3 boundaries and a 6 while Paranavithana chipped in with 40 off 83 balls with 4 boundaries. Other noteworthy contributions were from Sadum Mendis 37 and Wellalage 31. Ashen Daniel took 3 for 50 and  Sadeera Thilakaratne 3 for 53 for the winners.


Colombo 269 All out (50 Overs)

(K. Mishara 152, Ahan Wickramasinghe 30, Chamindu Wijesinghe 29, K. Nadeeshan 2/46, Rohan Sanjaya 2/50)

Kandy 174 All out (38.2 Overs)

(G. Rathnayake 49, A. Tharindu 32, D. Jayatunga 30, C. Wijesinghe 3/11, S. Dimnusha 2/20)

Dambulla 223 All out (46.2 Overs)

(S. Sumanaratne 56, R. Rasantha 53, D. Jayakody 29, S. Weeraratne 17, D.S. Thilakaratne 17, K.L. Gamage 14, L.K. Amarasinghe 11, S.T. Mendis 3/55, N. D. Paranavithana 2/29, A. Dilhara 2/38, D. N. Wellalage 2/38)

Galle 221 All out (49.4 Overs)

(P. Rathnayake 54, D. N. N. D. Paranavithana 40, S.T. Mendis 37, Wellalage 31,  A. Daniel

3/50, D.S. Thilakaratne 3/53)

Active filters

Recent Posts

Pin It on Pinterest

LKR Sri Lankan rupee