Home   |    News
July 15, 2019
SLC U-19 Super Provincial 50-Over Tournament kicks off

Sri Lanka Cricket


Sri Lanka Cricket’s (SLC) maiden Under-19 Super Provincial 50-Over Tournament will get underway next week with the four teams Colombo, Dambulla, Kandy and Galle in the fray.

Announcing the tournament, SLC’s Head of Operations, Domestic Cricket, Chinthaka Edirimanne said that the cream of talent amounting to 60 players would find the opportunity to showcase their talents in the super tournament.

“This tournament will be the ideal forerunner to getting the measure of the best in view of the Under-19 Asia Cup in September this year and  the 2020 Under-19 World Cup. The cream of talent has been fine-combed and have the ideal opportunity to perform at this level and gain selection to represent Sri Lanka in the two mega international events,” Edirimanne said.

Head Coach, Hashan Tillekeratne emphasised that the best players had found their way from the district tournament.

“We have a mix of the most talented players. Initially, we did not have the 28 national players from the under-19 and 19 competing in the district tournament so as to give an  opportunity for other players. They have come in for the provincial tournament and we have set them up with the best standards in place. This tournament will pave the way for us to discover more and more talented players. The selections have been done in a very transparent manner. The four teams are equally strong. I believe this will be the stage for these teenagers including under-15 and 16 talent up to the under-19 to raise their hands for selections for the Asia Cup this year and the 2020 World Cup. Importantly, we have fine honed players on the technical aspects of mastering the game.”

The four captains – Kamil Mishara of Colombo, Ruvin Peiris of Kandy, Nipun Dananjaya of Dambulla and Abhishek Kahaduwaarachchi og Galle expressed confidence of coming good in the super provincial tournament. They believed that they possessed very balanced sides to perform in such a mega tournament leading to two important international tournaments such as the Asia Cup and 2020 World Cup.



Kamil Mishara (Capt.), Mohamed Samaaz, Gamage Sonal Dinusha, Ashan Wickramasinghe, Johanne de Silva, Chamindu Wijesinghe, Y.A.D. Sandaruwan, Avishka Lakshan, Dilmin Rathanayaka, Praveen Silva, Lahiru Madushanka, Kavindu Pathirana, Shavon Daniel, Thakshika Nirmal.

Manager – Dilran Abeysekara


Nipun Dananjaya (Capt.), Ravindu Rasantha, Muditha Premadasa, Dunith Jayakodi, Leshan Amarasinghe, Lakshan Gamage, Dilun Sudheera, Ashen Daniel, Viyaskanth, Naveen Fernando, Yasiru Rodrigo, T. Dinushan, Supun Sumanarathna, Niknaka Jayathilaka, Sudeera Weerarathna.

Manager – K.S. Anandakumara


Abhishek Kahaduwaarachchi (Capt.), Navod Paranavithana, Pawan Rathnayaka, Chethaka Denuwan, Muditha Lakshan, Ashen Dilhara, Sadum Mendis, Dumith Wellalage, Raveen de Silva, Amshi de Silva, Jethesh Wasala, Kavindu Dilhara, Thevin Amarasinghe, Samith Isuru, Chihan Kalindu.

Manager – Wasanthalal Fernando.


Ruvin Peiris (Capt.), W.A.C.K. Wickramasinghe, Avishka Perera, Umayanga Suwaris, Ravindu Rathnayaka, Chamod Sadaru, Avishka Tharindu, Kavindu Nadeeshan, Rohan Sanjaya, Subhanu Rajapakse, Matheesha Pathirana, Sasith Hirunika, Abhishek Anadhakumar, Lohana Arosha, Dunith Jayatunga.

Manager – Lakshan Panditharatne.

By Srian Obeyesekere

-The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of Sri Lanka Cricket-

Active filters

Recent Posts

LKR Sri Lankan rupee

Pin It on Pinterest