Home   |    News
January 11, 2020
India win third T20 by 78 runs to take series 2-0

Sri Lanka Cricket

India proved to be too much for Sri Lanka winning the third and final T20 by a convincing 78 runs yesterday at the Maharashtra Cricket Stadium Grounds to take the series 2-nil.

Put in to bat, India Rattled up 201 for 6 wickets with K.L. Rahul making a 36-ball 54 inclusive of 5 boundaries and a six and Shikhar Dhawan a 36-ball 52 containing 7 boundaries and a six.The total was bolstered by contributions of 31 off 18 by M.K. Pandey with 4 boundaries and a 17-ball 26 from skipper Virat Kohli with 2 boundaries and a six. Lakshan Sandakan took 3 for 35 for Sri Lanka.

Sri Lanka folded up for 123 in 15.5 overs with Dhananjaya de Silva stroking an elegant 36-ball 57 packed with 6 boundaries and a six which was the highest individual score in the match. While Dhananjaya as often as he has done so proved that the perfect copybook technical edge to batting is his strongpoint, Angelo Mathews weighed in with a 20-ball 31 hitting 3 sixes and a boundary. None of the other batsmen reaching double figures reflected the poor batting performance that reflected lack of right temperament and commitment. N.A. Saini took 3 for 28 supported by Player of the Match S.N. Thakur 2 for 19 and W. Sundar 2 for 37 for the hosts. The Player of the Series was Navdeep Saini. 


India 201 for 6 (20 Overs) Run rate: 10.05 

(K.L.Rahul 54,S.  Dhawan 52, M.K. Pandey n.o.31, V. Kohli 26, L Sandakan 3/35) 

Sri Lanka 123 All out (15.5 Overs) Run rate:7.7

(D.M. de Silva 57, A.D. Mathews 31, N.A. Saini 3/28, S.N. Thakur 2/19, W. Sundar 2/37)

By Srian Obeyesekere

Active filters

Recent Posts

LKR Sri Lankan rupee

Pin It on Pinterest