Home   |    News
August 26, 2020
Jayasundera n.o. 154, Thirimanne 140 as Ragama blaze to 309/2 Vs. BRC

Sri Lanka Cricket


By Srian Obeyesekere

Ragama CC blazed to 309 for 2 wickets with Udara Jayasundera and Lahiru Thirimanne hammering 154 and 140 respectively in bludgeoning the BRC attack on the opening day of the fourth week’s Super Eight round of the Sri Lanka Cricket Major League Tier ‘A’ Tournament that commenced at the P. Saravanamuththu Stadium on Tuesday. Jayasundera struck 13 boundaries and 3 sixes in a 290-ball knock while Thirimanne, who sounded the run assault in a 224-ball knock, plundered 10 boundaries in getting in to top fettle. The duo were associated in a mammoth 305-run alliance for the second wicket having come together after the first wicket Saminda Fernando fell with just 3 runs on the board after opting to bat first.

Angelo Perera 107, NCC 458 Vs. Colts CC

Meanwhile, NCC went on a run spree rattling up 458 versus Colts CC with skipper Angelo Perera leading from the front striking 107 off 111 balls hitting 9 boundaries and 4 sixes having won the toss and elected to bat at the CCC grounds. Openers  Lahiru Igalagamage 66 off 69 with 8 boundaries and a six and Niroshan Dickwella 57 off 63 with 5 boundaries and a six set the stage for a big NCC total having posted 122 for the first wicket. Other main run getters were Kamil Mishara unbeaten on 72 off 99 (7×4), Sahan Arachchige 44 off 53 (7×4) and Chaturanga de Silva 41 off 58 (4×4,

Dilruwan Perera took 4 for 119 for Colts CC.

Champs CCC dismissed for 287 by Chilaw Marians

Already Super Eight champions CCC were pegged down to 287 by Chilaw Marians CC against some tight bowling by Nimal Vimukthi who claimed 5 for 59. The inform Lasith Abeyratne continued to impress scoring 68 off 92 hitting 9 boundaries and a six. Lahiru Madushanka made 45 off 51 with 7 boundaries.

Chandimal slams 136 n.o. in SL Army SC’s 344/5

Former Sri Lanka Captain Dinesh Chandimal, who not so long ago switched clubs from the NCC to the Sri Lanka Army, struck a masterly unbeaten innings of 136 off 186 balls containing 16 boundaries and a six in an Army total of 344 for 5 after winning the toss and batting at the FTZ Sports Complex, Katunayake. The total was propped up by Ashan Randika who scored 63 off 58 balls with 8 boundaries and a six and Lakshan Edirisinghe 45 off 113 (3×4, 2×6).



Ragama CC 309/2 (90 Overs) RR: 3.43 Vs. BRC

(M.D.U.S. Jayasundera n.o. 154, H.D.R.L. Thirimanne 140, P.W.S. Dulshan n.o. 13)


NCC 458 (88.2 Overs) RR: 5.18 Vs. Colts CC

(A.K. Perera 107, Kamil Mishara n.o. 72, L.U. Igalagamage 66, S.S.D. Arachchige 44, P.C. de Silva 41,P.V.D. Chameera 28, L. Embuldeniya 15, W.U. Tharanga 11, M.D.K. Perera 4/119)


CCC 287 (59.5 Overs) RR: 4.79, VS. Chilaw Marians CC

(L. Abeyratne 68, L.D. Madushanka 45, S.M.A. Priyanjan 35,P.A.D.L.R. Sandakan 35, P.W.H. de Silva 23, R.K. Chandraguptha 18, P.M. Pushpakumara 12, N. Vimukthi 5/59 A.M. Fernando 3/75)


SL Army SC 344/5 (90 Overs) RR: 3.82 Vs. Saracens SC

(L.D. Chandimal n.o. 136, D.A. Randika 63, M.V.T.P. Dilshan 67, L.E.K. Edirisinghe 45,W.T. Dilshan 19,

H.S. Liyanage n.o. 9, P.A.S.S. Jeewantha 2/59, M.N.M. Dilshad 2/82)

Active filters

Recent Posts

Pin It on Pinterest

LKR Sri Lankan rupee