Domestic Cricket Padding Up Premier League

Moors Stun Tamil Union by 44 runs


Moors SC beat Tamil Union by 44 runs in their Plate Championship match on the third and final day at the Tyronne Fernando Stadium, Moratuwa on Tuesday. Chasing a victory target of 200, Tamil Union C &AC, who were overnight 20 for 1, caved in for 156. Overly, Tamil Union batsmen lacked the cohesive mechanism to reach what was a modest target having needed to get 180 runs on the final day with all their wickets intact when play commenced. In that scenario, full marks to the Moors SC bowlers in running through the opposition with strike bowler Praveen Jayawickrama turning out to be toast of the Moors camp following his match winning 6 for 91 haul for a match bag of 11 for 144. A highest score of 30 by skipper Tharanga Paranavitana reflected the inability of the cream of the batting to come good. When Sri Lanka batsman Dhananjaya de Silva, the top scorer with 95 in the first innings was dismissed for 4 the writing was on the wall for Moors with late order batsman Suranga Lakmal using the long handle hammering 5 sixes in top scoring with 40 off 20 balls.


Moors SC 206 (71.2 Overs) RR: 2.88

(Nipun Karunanayake 44, Dinuka Dilshan 43, Dhananjaya de Silva 7/59)

And 171 (46.1 Overs) RR: 3.7

(P. Waduge 44, A. Siriwardena 42, K. Anjula  43, D.M. de Silva 5/50, S. Pathiranage 2/54)

TAMIL UNION C&AC 178 (O/N 37/3) (52 Overs) RR: 3.42

(D.M. de Silva 95, D.M Sarathchandra 19, Ranmith Jayasena 18, I. Udana 15,

R.T.M. Mendis 3/39)

And 155 (O/N 20/1 (36.3 Overs) RR: 4.24

(N.T. Paranavitana 30, A.D. Fernando 20, I. Udana 18, D.M. Sarathchandra 15

Y. Mendis 11, P. Jayawickrema 6/91, R.T.M. Mendis 2/18)


The SSC versus Lankan CC game also ended in a draw at the Colts Grounds. Lankan CC led SSC on the first innings by 43 runs having made 375 in 119 overs in reply to SSC’s 332. Resuming from an overnight 308 for 5, overnight batsman skipper Chanaka Ruwansiri added a further 13 runs for a praiseworthy knock of 165 off 201 balls inclusive of 17 boundaries and 7 sixes. Jeffrey Vandersay finished with figures of 5 for 117.

Batting a second time SSC were 226 for 4 with Sandun Weerakkody stroking 67 off 55 hitting 5 boundaries and 3 sixes. Nuwanidu Fernando made 45 off 71 with 6 boundaries and a six with the pair posting 109 for the first wicket. Charith Asalanka made 34 off 42 with 2 boundaries and 2 sixes, K. Kulasekera an unbeaten 33 and skipper Dasun Shanaka 23)


SSC 332 (76.2 Overs) RR: 4.34

(D. Shanaka 112, S. Ashan 54, C. Ruwansiri 3/53, C.M.K.K. Wijerathne 3/93,

D.N. Wellalage 3/97)

And 226/4 (48 Overs) RR: 4.7

(D.S. Weerakkody 67, M.N.K. Fernando 45, K.I.C. Asalanka 34, K. Kulasekera

n.o. 33, M.D. Shanaka 23)

LANKAN CC 375 (O/N 308/5) (119.4  Overs) RR: 3.13

(L.A.C. Ruwansiri n.o. 151, H.G. Kumara 60, K.P.A. Perera 34, A.L.K.L. Abeyrathne

n.o. 22, C.M.K.K. Wijerathne 21, J.D.F. Vandersay  5/117, K.K.V. Perera 3/54) 


The Negombo CC versus Badureliya SC encounter ended in a tame draw at the the NCC grounds. Negombo took their overnight 328 for 7 to 381 for a first innings lead of 114 with Madawa Warnapura adding just 12 runs to his overnight 72 to top score with 87. He struck 9 boundaries in his 141-ball knock.

Badureliya SC made 276 in their second innings in 69.1 overs with Dushan Hemantha striking 115 off 112 balls piercing the boundary on 12 occasions and over the top thrice.

Upul Indrajith took 5 for 85 and A.L. Rasanjana 5 for 97.


Badureliya SC 267 (84.5 Overs) RR: 3.14

(Dunith Jayatunga 57, M.S.U.  Perera 51, Damith Perera

43, A.A.S.Silva 21, S.A.D.U. Indrasiri 5/65, A.L. Rasanjana 3/65)

And 276 (69.1 Overs) RR: 3.99

(M.A.D.I. Hemantha 115, T.N. Sampath 20, M.S.U. Perera 15,

 S. Jayawardene 18, B.K.E.L. Milantha 16,S.A.D.U. Indrasiri 5/85,

A.L. Rasanjana 5/97)

Negombo CC 381 (O/N 328/7) (105.2 Overs) RR: 3.61

(E.M.D.Y. Munaweera 91, M.S. Warnapura n.o. 87, A.J.A.D.D.L.A. Jayasinghe

66, R.P. Thattil 33, W.A.A.M. Silva 30, P.S.U. Fernando 12, A.L. Rasanjana 12,

M.A.D.I. Hemantha 3/61, B.B. Sanjeewa 2/84 )

Related posts

Sri Lanka A rally to hold Pakistan A to a draw in 1st four-day match

Web Admin

LPL තරගාවලියට ක්‍රීඩකයින් තේරුවෙ මෙහෙමයි

Web Admin

SL WOMEN’S TOUR OF AUSTRALIA: Separate ODI and T20 captains

Web Admin