Home   |    News
August 13, 2020
Negombo CC upstage Lankan CC by 5 wickets on Warnapura and Thattil fifties

Sri Lanka Cricket

By Srian Obeyesekere

Having trailed by 32 runs on the first innings, Negombo staged a superb fight back to hand out a 5-wicket defeat to Lankan CC at the De Soysa Stadium, Moratuwa.  Chasing 144 to win Negombo reached 147 for 5 in 36.5 overs with their first innings half centurions Roscoe Thattil and Madawa Warnapura unbeaten on 38 and  33 respectively. Thattil’s composed 64-ball knock contained just the 2 boundaries while Warnapura’s 70-ball innings contained 2 boundaries and a six.

 Lankan CC never recovered from their second innings overnight slump of 67 for 6 crashing for 111 with the first innings century effort of skipper Chanaka Ruwansiri coming to naught.

SSC Vs Tamil Union match drawn

The SSC versus Tamil Union C&AC ended in a draw at the NCC Grounds. Tamil Union resuming from an overnight 294 for 5 closed on 349. SSC made amends for the first innings lapse finishing on 271 for 5 off 63 overs with Charith Asalanka top scoring with 94 off 160 balls studded with 7 boundaries and 2 sixes.

He was associated in a 102-run alliance for the first wicket with Sandun Weerakkody who struck a breezy 68 off 56 balls spiced with 4 hits to the ropes and an equal number of sixes.

Badureliya escape defeat to Moors by a thread

Having trailed Moors SC by 191 runs, Badureliya escaped defeat by the skin of their teeth finishing on 120 for 9 chasing a daunting 497-run victory target at the Colts CC Grounds.

Moors declared the second innings on 305 for 6 with Sachithra Serasinghe top scoring with 60 hitting 7 boundaries while Ramesh Mendis made a sedate 61 with just a six. Adding to the run fiesta was Nipun Karunanayake with a 67-ball 58 with 4 boundaries and  2 sixes while Mohamed Shamaz made 48.



Lankan CC 270 (Chanaka Ruwansiri 124) And 111 (50 Overs) RR: 2.19 (Chanaka Ruwansiri 30, Risith Upamal 36, Upul Indrasiri 5/34, W.R.C. Fernando 3/29)

 Negombo CC 238 (Madawa Warnapura 64, Roscoe Thattil 63) And 147/5 (36.5 Overs) RR: 3.99 (Roscoe Thattil n.o. 38, Madawa Warnapura n.o. 33, Pasindu Lakshanaka 29, Dilshan Munaweera 25,  Dunith Wellalage 3/60)


SSC 254 (Sachithra Senanayake 81) And 271/5 (63 Overs) RR: 4.3 (Charith Asalanka 94, Sandun Weerakkody 68, Sammu Ashan 37, Dasun Shanaka 30, M.A. Liyanapathiranage 2/51).

Tamil Union C&AC 349 (102.4 Overs) RR: 3.39 (Ranmith Jayasena 82,, Tharanga Paranavitana 71, Dhananjaya de Silva 53, Dhammika Prasad 2/28)


Moors SC 340 (Ayana Siriwardena 83, Adeesha Thilanchana 53, Lahiru Samarakoon 5/85). And 305/6 decl. (69.1 Overs) RR: 4.4 (Sachithra Serasinghe 60, Ramesh Mendis 61, Nipun Karunanayake 58, Mohamed Shamaz 48, Salinda Ushan Perera 23, Anjula 6/35, P. Jayawickrema 3/43)

Badureliya SC 149 All out (Salinda Ushan Perera 67, Dushan Hemantha 25, Kavishka  Anjula 5/39, Sachithra Serasinghe  3/12, R.T.M. Mendis 2/37). And 120/9 (40 Overs) RR: 3.0 (P. Waduge 36, A. Thilanchana n.o. 28, Lahiru Samarakoon 2/33)

Active filters

Recent Posts

Pin It on Pinterest

LKR Sri Lankan rupee