Featured LPL News Padding Up

Angelo Perera 67 off 49 stars in Dambulla Viiking 5-wkt. Win over Kandy Tuskers

By Srian Obeyesekere

Angelo Perera rose in stature striking a match winning 49-ball 67 laced with 3 sixes and 5 boundaries in guiding the Dambulla Viiking to an emphatic 5-wicket win against Kandy Tuskers in the second Day-Night match, and the 10th of the Lanka Premier League at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium at Sooriyawewa, Hambantota on Thursday. Dambulla Vikings made 157 for 5 off 19.2 overs in reply to Kandy Tuskers 156 for 6 off 20 having batted first on winning the toss.

Player of the Match Perera shared in a 46-ball 79-run fourth wicket alliance with skipper Dasun Shanaka who made 33 off 23 hitting 3 boundaries and a six in making the difference between the two sides. The duo took the Vikings to within 22 runs of the 157-run target when Angelo Perera departed in the first ball of the 17th over. Shanaka followed 7 runs later before the sixth-wicket pair of Samiullah Shinwari (11 off 10, 2×4)and Anwar Ali (9 off 6, 1×4) did the rest.

Kandy Tuskers innings revolved around skipper Kusal Janith Perera upfront striking a 34-ball 41(5×4) and Kusal Mendis a 45-ball top score of 55 hitting 4 boundaries and 2 sixes. But the batting precipitated from 125 for 3 off 16.1 with the desired fire power late charge not forthcoming. Asela Gunaratne was unbeaten on 18 off 12 with a boundary and six. Kasun Rajitha took 2 for 16 and Muthumudalige Pushpakumara 2 for 28.


KANDY TUSKERS 156/6 (20 Overs) RR: 7.8

(B.K.G. Mendis 55, M.D.K.J. Perera 41, D.A.S. Gunaratne n.o. 18, Rahmanullah Gurbaz 15, B.R.M. Taylor 13, C.A.K. Rajitha 2/16, P.M. Pushpakumara 2/28)

Fall of wickets: 1-33 (Rahmanullah Gurbaz, 3.5 ov), 2-91 (Kusal Perera, 11.2 ov), 3-125 (Brendan Taylor, 16.1 ov), 4-125 (Seekkuge Prasanna, 16.2 ov), 5-129 (Kusal Mendis, 17.1 ov), 6-155 (Kamindu Mendis, 19.4 ov)

DAMBULLA VIKINGS 157/5 (19.2 Overs) RR: 8.12

(A.K. Perera 67, M.D. Shanaka 33, W.U. Tharanga 19, S.R. Patel 11, S. Shinwari n.o. 11,Anwar Ali n.o. 9)

Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Niroshan Dickwella, 0.3 ov), 2-42 (Upul Tharanga, 5.5 ov), 3-56 (Samit Patel, 8.1 ov), 4-135 (Angelo Perera, 16.1 ov), 5-142 (Dasun Shanaka, 17.1 ov)

Related posts

ශ්‍රී ලංකාව සමඟ එක්දින තරගාවලියට ශකීබ් නෑ

Web Admin

පාකිස්තානුවෝ පිති මුවහත් කර ගනිති

Web Admin

ශ්‍රී ලංකාවට එරෙහි දකුණු අප්‍රිකානු පිල නම් කරයි

Chamila Karawita