Home   |    News
February 27, 2021
Lankan CC make big leap defeating Colts CC; SSC thrash Badureliya CC by 10 wickets

Sri Lanka Cricket


Lankan CC made a big leap to the final of the Sri Lanka Cricket Major Club Under-23 Cricket Tournament defeating the more fancied Colts CC by 3 wickets on Friday in their semi-final match at the P. Saravanamuththu Stadium. Accordingly, Lankan CC will meet SSC in the finals on Sunday at the SSC grounds.

Lankan CC made a fine start dismissing Colts CC for 189 off 43.1 overs and held their nerve to make 190 for 7 off 47.5 overs in a concentrated batting effort. Getting the Lankans there were Damith Silva with 41 runs while Vishwa Chathuranga 33, Methsith Jayamanne 26 and Dunith Wellalage with an unbeaten 22 put the finishing touches.

Top scorer for Colts CC was Dhananjaya Lakshan with 53 while the pick of the bowlers for Lankan CC was Yasiru Rodrigo with 4 for 39 backed by Lahiru Dilshan’s 3for 14 and Dunith Wellalage’s 2 for 32.

In the other semi-final at NCC grounds, SSC registered a cakewalk 10-wicket win over Badureliya CC who were shot out for a paltry 93 in 34 overs after being sent in to bat with Dilum Thillakaratna reaping superb figures of 5 for 27 and Chamindu Wickramasinghe 2 for 7.  

SSC sped to victory off  just 18 overs spearheaded by Nipun Dhananjaya who stroked an elegant half century and Sohan de Livcra 37.


AT NCC GROUNDS SSC beat Badureliya CC by 10 wickets

Baduraliya CC 93 (34 overs) 

(Mithira Thenura 22, Thamindu Wickramaarachchi 22, Dilum Thilakarathna 5/27, Chamindu Wickramasinghe 2/7)

SSC 95/0 (18 overs)

(Nipun Dhananjaya 50 n.o, Sohan de Livera 37 n.o).

At P. SARAVANAMUTHTHU STADIUM – Lankan CC beat Colts CC by 7 wickets.

 Colts CC: 189 in 43.1 overs 

(Dhananjaya Lakshan 55, Vishad Randika 38, Heshan Danushka 21, Yasiru Rodrigo 4/39, Lahiru Dilshan 3/14, Dunith Wellalage 2/32)

Lankan CC: 190/7 (47.5 overs)

(Damith Silva 41, Vishwa Chathuranga 33, Kasun Abeyrathne 26, Damitha Silva 41, Dunith Wellalage 22 n.o, Methsith Jayamanne 26, Amantha Gunarathna 3/42, Rohan Sanjaya 2/27).

Active filters

Recent Posts

Pin It on Pinterest

LKR Sri Lankan rupee