Home   |    News
May 26, 2021
Sri Lanka crash to second successive defeat as Bangladesh clinches series with one to go

Sri Lanka Cricket

In another pathetic batting display, the new look Sri Lanka crashed to their second successive defeat to Bangladesh by 103 runs under the Duckworth and Lewis method in a stop start rain affected second ODI at the Shere Bangla National Stadium on Tuesday. 

The Sri Lankans wobbled on 141 for 9 off 40 overs chasing 240 under the revised D/N target in the rain torn game in reply to Bangladesh’s 256 off 48.1 overs. The highest one could muster was 24 by opening batsman Danushka Gunathilaka  with skipper Kusal Janith Perera exiting for 14, Pathum Nissanka for 20, Kusal Mendis 15, Dhananjaya de Silva 10, Ashen Bandarara 15 and Dasun Shanaka 11 in that order while first innings top scorer Wanidu Hasaranga was castled by Mehidy Hasan Miraz for 6. Miraz and Mustafizur Rahman once again proved to be the bogey men claiming 3 for 28 and 3 for 16 respectively.

Bangladesh, having already taken the series 2-nil with one to go, advanced to the top of the ICC’s World Cup Super League points table. It marked their maiden series win against Sri Lanka. 

After Bangladesh had won the toss and batted for the second consecutive time, the hosts were once again put on the back foot. They were reduced to 4 for 74 off 15.4 overs. But conspicuously, the Lankan bowlers, as in the previous game, lacked the fire power to  penetrate star batsman Mushfiqur Rahim and Mahmudullah, who wrested the initiative Bangladesh’s way. Rahim struck a brilliant 127-ball 125 inclusive of 10 boundaries for his second Player of the Match award, and Mahmudullah 41 off 58 in an 87-run fifth wicket alliance.  Dushmantha Chameera and Lakshan Sandakan took 3 for 44 and 3 for 54 respectively while upfront Isuru Udana claimed 2 for 49.


BANGLADESH 246 (48.1 Overs) RR: 5.10

(Mushfiqur Rahim 125, Mahmudullah 41, Dushmantha Chameera 3/44, Lakshan Sandakan 3/54, Isuru Udana claimed 2/49)

SRI LANKA 141/9 (40 Overs) RR: 3.52

(Danushka Gunathilaka 24, Pathum Nissanka 20, Kusal Mendis 15, Ashen Bandara 15, Isuru Udana n.o. 18, Kusal Janith Perera 14,Dasun Shanaka 11, Dhananjaya de Silva 10, Mustafizur Rahman 3 for 16, Mehidy Hasan Miraz 3/28,  Shakib Al Hasan 2/38)

Active filters

Recent Posts

Pin It on Pinterest

LKR Sri Lankan rupee