Home   |    News
June 25, 2021
Sri Lankan batsmen disappoint again as England win, but after early scare to take series 2-0

Sri Lanka Cricket

By yet another batting debacle marked by lack of technique, Sri Lanka surrendered the second T20 yesterday as well and the 3-match series by two straight defeats on a day only three batsmen reached double figures on the Sophia Gardens track at Cardiff. Needled to 111 for 7 in 20 overs with Kusal Mendis top scoring with a run a ball 39 with 3 boundaries and a six,  England got home by 5 wickets making 108 on bad weather marred D/L method after suffering early scares. The Lankan batting clearly lacked the gelling mechanism on a moderate wicket.

England were however, made to fight for victory by the Lankan bowlers.

Down to 1 for 2 and 2 for 8, 3 for 30, 4 for 36 in just 6.3 overs with Jonny Bairstow bowled by Binura Fernando for a duck, Dawid Malan trapped leg before for 4 by Dushmantha Chameera, skipper Eoin Morgan undone by Isuru Udana to a catch to Dhananjaya de Silva  and Jason Roy for 17 claimed by Hasaranga caught by Dasun Shanaka in that order, the Lankan bowlers had done a remarkable job putting Sri Lanka with a chance of a win defending a meager total.  

But the hosts recovered by a fifth wicket partnership of 54 between Liam Livingstone who made an unbeaten 26-ball 29 with just a six and Sam Billings who made 24 off 29 (2×4). Hasaranga broke the partnership bowling Billings to make it 90 for 5 off 14.3, but Livingstone stood firm in an unfinished 18 run-alliance with Sam Curran unbeaten on 16 off 8 (1×4, 1×6). It earned Livingstone the Player of the Match award.


SRI LANKA 111/7 (20 Overs) RR: 5.55

(Kusal Mendis 39, Kusal Janith Perera 21, Isuru Udana n.o. 19, Mark Wood 2/18, Adil Rashid 2/24, Sam Curran 1/8, Chris Jordan 1/31)

ENGLAND 108/5  (16.1 Overs) RR: 6.68

(Liam Livingstone n.o. 29, Sam Billings 24,Jason Roy 17, Sam Currn n.o. 16, Wanindu Hasaranga 2/20, Binura Fernando 1/17, Isuru Udana 1/25, Dushmantha Chameera 1/29)

(Image Courtesy: Getty Images)

Active filters

Recent Posts

Pin It on Pinterest

LKR Sri Lankan rupee