Home   |    News
September 11, 2021
South Africa power to 28-run win

Sri Lanka Cricket

South Africa powered to a 28-run win over Sri Lanka on a total of 163 for 6 wickets and restricting the hosts to 136 for 6 to go 1 up in the 3-match T20 series on Friday at the R. Premadasa International Stadium.

The South Africans showcased the intensity that dictate the short fad version of instant cricket in a cohesive run gallop to Sri Lanka’s staggered response despite a brilliant unbeaten 66 off 54 deliveries by Dinesh Chandimal. The former captain, whose career has suffèred some close calls having nearly chucked up his career dissilusioned over his summarily axing several times, hit back with a vengenance opening the batting clouting 2 sixes and 5 fours. But he lacked the desired support upfront with the rest of the frontline disappointing.

Avishka Fernando fell for 14 failing to reproduce his match winning century form in the tour opener in his last three innings against the Proteas.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa followed his horror run of ducks against the South Africans falling first ball leg before wicket to Keshav Maharaj, Charith Asalanka 6 and skipper Dasun Shanaka 16. Chandimal had to dig in deep with only a run a ball seventh-wicket partnership of 35 between Chamika Karunaratne who was unbeaten on 22 off 14 (2×6, 1×4) reviving the innings but with Sri Lanka fallen back on the run rate.

South Africa’s innings revolved around a top score of 48 by Player of the Match Markram (2×6, 1×4), Reeza Hendricks 38, skipper Quinton de Kock 36 and David Miller 26 with a highest fourth-wicket partnership of 65 between Markram and Miller off 35 balls. Wanindu Hasaranga took 2 for 23.

Chief Score: South Africa 163/5 (20 Overs RR: 8.15 (Aiden Markram 48, Reeza Hendricks 38, Quinton de Kock 36, David Miller 26, Wanindu Hasaranga 2/23) Sri Lanka 136/6 (20 Overs RR: 6.75

Active filters

Recent Posts

Pin It on Pinterest

LKR Sri Lankan rupee