Home   |    News
November 15, 2021
Australia T20 World Champs – thrash New Zealand by 8 wickets

Sri Lanka Cricket

In a superlative batting display, Australia crushed New Zealand by 8 wickets in the final of the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 to becoming the world champions, in a decisive display of their clinical superiority in big show business on Sunday at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.  

Chasing an imposing 173 for victory where New Zealand had done nothing wrong in fronting 172 for 4 wickets largely on skipper Kane Williamson’s 48-ball 85 (10×4, 3×6), Australia’s front liners David Warner 53 off 38 tucked with 3 sixes and 4 boundaries  and Mirchell Marsh an unbeaten  77 off 50 balls packed with 4 sixes and 6 to the ropes fired their side in a terrific batting display. The second-wicket pair shared in a 92-run partnership in lifting the side from 15 for 1 after skipper Aaron Finch had been claimed by Trent Boult for 5 caught by Mitchell. Following Warner’s exit bowled by Boult with the score 107, Glen Maxwell 28 off 18 with 4 boundaries and a six sped was the perfect foil to Marsh in speeding Australia to the world cup with 7 balls to spare. 

The cup triumph by Australia marked the first by a nation from the Southern hemisphere carrying away what has come to be regarded as cricket’s most rousing of all formats – the T20 world cup. It once again blew away New Zealand’s hopes of winning the pot of gold in instant cricket following their failed attempt at the 2019 50-over world cup. The defeat for Kane Williamson’s men was largely by their much talked of bowling attack faltering on the big occasion having flattered on the way to sweeping into the finals.

While Mitchell Marsh was the Player of the Match sparkle for Australia in that cup hurrah for his 50-ball unbeaten 77 bringing up his half century in style clouting Ish Sodhi for six,  David Warner’s resolute batting that had much to do in fronting the side’s cup campaign coming into the tournament on a form low for an aggregate of 289 runs earned him the rich Player of the Series Award.


New Zealand  172/4 (20 Overs) RR: 8.60

(Kane Williamson 85, Martin Guptil 28, Glen Phillips 18, James Neeshan n.o. 13, 

Australia 173/2 (18.5 Overs) RR: 9.18

(David Warner 53, Mitchell Marsh n.o. 77, Glen Maxwell n.o. 28, Trent Boult 2/18)

Active filters

Recent Posts

Pin It on Pinterest

LKR Sri Lankan rupee