Home   |    News
December 14, 2021
Seekkuge Prasanna sixes laden unbeaten 32 fires Colombo Stars to last gasp win over Kandy Warriors

Sri Lanka Cricket

Seekkuge Prasanna struck a breathtaking Player of the Match unbeaten 32 off 6 balls decked with 5 sixes to propel Colombo Stars to a nail-biting 5-wicket win over Kandy Warriors with two balls to spare in tonight’s first day-night game of the Sri Lanka Premier League 2021 at the R. Premadasa Stadium.

Needing 37 to win from 13 balls, Seekkuge Prasanna kept the momentum going reaching 32 off 6 balls inclusive of 5 sixes, one each off Binura Fernando and Colombage, and three off Lahiru Kumara as Colombo Stars reached 144 for 5 with three balls remaining before going on to seal the game with another stunning six with the final total reading 150 for 5. Rutrherford was unbeaten on a run a ball 14 with the solitary boundary.

Colombo Stars run chase started badly losing Pathum Nissanka with no runs on the board to the third ball of the innings when he was stumped by Tom Moores off Nimesh Vimukthi for a duck. They reached 23 for 2 after 4.5 overs following the exit of Thikshila de Silva who came one drop and scored 15. Skipper Angelo Mathews, fresh from his match winning half century exploit of the day before, kept one end going on 25 off 26 with two sizzling shots over the top and a boundary, Colombo Stars had reached 51 for 2 after 10.2 overs with Ashan Priyanjan on 10 after 14 balls with a boundary.

But Colombo Stars lost the wickets of Ashan Priyanjan and Angelo Mathews in quick succession within 4 balls to be reduced to 61 for 4 after 12.1 overs. Priyanjan became Vimukthi’s second victim holing out to Colombage for 15 while Mathews was caught and bowled by Charith Asalanka for 29 off 34 (1×4, 2×6).

Next man in Dinesh Chandimal revived the Colombo Stars innings striking at 27-ball 44 hitting 4 boundaries and a six in adding 49 runs off 31 balls with Sherfane Rutherford who was on 10 as they reached 110 for 5 after 17.5 overs. winning with two balls to spare. Prasanna remained unbeaten on 32 off 6 balls laced with 5 sixes while Rutrherfords was unbeaten on a run a ball 14 with just the solitary boundary.

Kandy Warriors lost the plot from a healthy 71 for 1 after 8.1 overs with the last 8 wickets falling for the addition of 75 runs. Early on, West Indian Kennar Lewis, held sway scoring the bulk 57 of 97 for 3 after 11.3 overs at the fall of skipper Angelo Perera’s wicket snapped up  at short wicket by his opposite number Angelo Mathews off quick Dushmantha Chameera. But three balls later, the big wicket of the threatening Lewis was claimed by Chameera in a double strike within four deliveries of his third over for his third wicket when he deceived the batsman by a slower delivery. Attempting to cut, Lewis, on 62 edged it behind to wicket-keeper Dinesh Chandimal and the Warriors were reduced to 103 for 4 off 12 overs. His 44-ball cameo contained 6 to the stands and 2 boundaries. Lewis’wicket was to trigger a collapse as Kandy Warriors lost a further 3 wickets for the addition of 17 runs reaching 120 for 7 after 17 overs with Seekkuge Prasanna, Ashan Priyanjan and Dhananjaya de Silva accounting for a wicket each. Two balls later, Kamindu Mendis was dismissed by Rampaul who had him caught by Pathum Nissanka for 8 as the Warriors further precipitated to 120 for 8. Dushmantha Chameera’s figures read 3 for 21 off 3 overs. They eventually recovered to 146 for 9 with the ninth wicket pair of of Nimesh Vimukthi (12) and Binura Fernando (n.o. 9) adding 16 runs before Chameera returned to clean bowl Vimukthi for his fourth wicket making it 136 for 9 to finishing on 146 for 9 at the end of 20 overs with last man Lahiru Kumara on 5.


Kandy Warriors 146/9 (20 OVERS) RR: 7.30

(Kenna Lewis 62, Charith Asalanka 28, Nimesh Vimukthi 12, Dushmantha Chameera 4/35)

Colombo Stars 150/5 (19.4 OVERS) RR: 7.62

(Seekuge Prasanna n.o. 32, Sherfane Rutherford n.o. 12, Angelo Mathews 29, Thikshila de Silva 15, Ashan Priyanjan 15,  Nimesh Vimukthi 2/11)

Active filters

Recent Posts

Pin It on Pinterest

LKR Sri Lankan rupee