Home   |    News
February 27, 2022
India overhaul Sri Lanka’s 183 for 5 to win by 7 wkts

Sri Lanka Cricket

Despite posting a spirited 183 for 5 rallied by skipper Dasun Shanaka’s 19-ball unbeaten cameo 47 and a 53-ball 75 by opening batsman Pathum Nissanka, Sri Lanka could not stop India from coasting to a 7-wicket triumph in the second T20 for an unassailable 2-nil lead clinch the 3=match series at the the Dharmasala Groumds on Saturday.

Sri Lanka’s fallback in the early overs proved to be costly as India reached the target in 17.1 overs propelled by Shreyas Iyer’s unbeaten 74 off 44 balls.

Shanaka struck 5 sixes and 2 boundaries in lifting Sri Lanka from 91 for 1 in 13 overs after India had won the toss and elected to field.

The fifth wicket partnership between Nissanka and Shanaka realised 58 off 26 balls in what was an improved performance by the Lankans from the first game with opener Danushka Gunathilaka making 38 off 29 hitting 2 sixes and 4 fours. The Lankan skipper reached his belligerent best as the last four overs yielded 72 runs.

However, the Indians unleashed the type of unstoppable cricket with Iyer striking 4 sixes and 6 fours in countering the Lankans to cap it with the Player of the Match award as the hosts recovered from 1 for 9 and 2 for 44 following the dismissal of skipper Sharma off the first ball of the fifth over to set up victory. Contributing to it was Ravindra Jadeja unbeaten on 45 off 18 with 7 fours and a six and Sanju Samson 39 off 25 laced with 3 over the top and two to the ropes. Lahiru Kumara took 2 for 31 in that eary burst for Sri Lanka, and Dushmantha Chameera 1 for 39.

Active filters

Recent Posts

Pin It on Pinterest

USD United States (US) dollar