Home   |    News
February 17, 2022
Niroshan Dickwella 135, Lahiru Udara 106, Ashian Daniel 4/46 in Kandy’s routing of Galle; Dhananjaya de Silva 79 & 2 wkts in Jaffna’s 4-wkt win over Colombo

Sri Lanka Cricket

Kandy went on a run spree of 343 for 6 in defeating Galle by 66 runs on ton up openers Niroshan Dickwella who bludgeoned 135 off 104 balls packed with 14 boundaries and 2 sixes, and Lahiru Udara who struck 106 off 116 with 10 boundaries and 2 sixes on Wednesday at the Pallekelle International Stadium. They shared in a record 233-run first-wicket partnership off 210 balls. Galle was dismissed for 27 7 in 47.1 overs.

Kandy’s run feast was also boosted by skipper Kamindu Mendis’ 41-ball 58 inclusive of 2 sixes and boundaries apiece.

Galle’s innings revolved around Kavishka Anjula’s 71-ball 90 containing 12 boundaries and 3 sixes. Vishad Randika 47, Pabasara Waduge 42 and Ashan Randika 27 were Galle’s other run getters. Ashian Daniel was outstanding taking 4 for 46, Pulina Tharanga 3 for 55 and Asoka Fernando 2 for 51 for the winners.

Meanwhile, Jaffna’s skipper Dhananjaya de Silva continued his all-round prowess in the tournament claiming 2 for 42 and top scoring with an unbeaten 79 off 93 balls hitting 8 fours in pulling off a 4-wicket win over Colombo at the Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium. Jaffna made 198 for 6 wickets in 46.5 overs in reply to Colombo’s 195 for 8 in 50 overs. Nuwan Pradeep took 2 for 22 for Jaffna. Sadeera Samarawickrema made 39 and Santhush Gunathilaka 30 for the winners. Top scorer for Colombo was Roshen Silua with 64 off 77 balls followed by Nuwanidu Fernando 37 and Nipun Dhananjaya 24.

Active filters

Recent Posts

Pin It on Pinterest

LKR Sri Lankan rupee