Home   |    News
June 3, 2022

Sri Lanka Cricket

Naming of whirlwind century maker 22-year old Nuwanidu Fernando in SL T20 squad along with Bhanuka Rajapaksa of interest

Sri Lanka will engage the visiting Australian cricket team on three fronts starting with the 3-match T20 series followed by the 3-match ODI series leading to the two test matches which arrived yesterday will play two Test matches, three T20s and three ODIs against Sri Lanka. The Test team is led by Pat Cummins, the specialist fast bowler while the ODI and T20 side is led by Aaron Finch. A full strength Australian 34-member composition arrived here yesterday for a 52-day tour with the T20 series starting on June 7. The test team will be led by ace fast bowler Pat Cummins while longtime skipper of the biff bang version, Aaron Finch will once again be leading the Australian T20 and ODI teams. The tour will be an experience for new head coach Andrew McDonald.

The Sri Lanka Test team will be led by Dimuth Karunaratne while the T20 and ODI teams will be led by the imaginative hard hitting all-rounder Dasun Shanaka.

The tour begins with three Twenty20 matches followed by five one-day internationals.

Meanwhile, the naming of uncapped 22-year old Nuwanindu Fernando to the Sri Lanka T20 squad has generated much interest following the youngster’s whirlwind unbeaten match winning century for the Development Squad versus Gloucestershire on tour of England few days ago. He was named in the 18-member Sri Lanka T-20 squad for the series which gets underway on June 7. The inclusion of the hard hitting Bhanuka Rajapaksa, who forced himself back into the reckoning after being dropped following some pleasing performances for the Punjab Kings in the recent IPL is expected to be a leaning impetus to the Lankan composition against the strong Australians. Charith Asalanka, Pathum Nissanka have come into the equation following injuries while Nuwan Thushara , said to resemble the Lasith Malinga action has also generated the hype.

Australian Star performers  Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc, David Warner, Steve Smith, Matthew Wade and Glenn Maxwell have all returned to the limited-overs squads having missed the recent white-ball games versus Pakistan. Test captain Pat Cummins will sit out the T20 matches while first-choice spinner Adam Zampa will miss the entire tour due to the impending birth of his first child.

Sri Lanka T20 Squad for the Australia series:

Dasun Shanaka – (Captain), Pathum Nissank, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaks, Nuwanidu Fernando, Lahiru Madushanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Kasun Rajitha, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana, Ramesh Mendis, Maheesh Theekshana, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lakshan Sandakan (Standby-players Jeffrey Vandersay, Niroshan Dickwella.

Sri Lanka provisional Test squad: 

Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Pathum Nissanka, Kamil Mishara, Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya De Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella, Dinesh Chandimal, Chamika Karunaratne, Ramesh Mendis, Mohamed Shiraz, Shiran Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka, Lahiru Kumara, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Jeffrey Vandersay, Lakshitha Rasanjana, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lasith Embuldeniya, Suminda Lakshan

Sri Lanka provisional ODI squad: 

Dasun Shanaka (c), Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya De Silva, Ashen Bandara, Dinesh Chandimal, Niroshan Dickwella, Janith Liyanage, Dunith Wellalage, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Sahan Arachchi, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Lahiru Madushanka, Ramesh Mendis, Dushmantha Chameera, Binura Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka, Lahiru Kumara, Kasun Rajitha, Jeffrey Vandersay, Maheesh Theekshana, Praveen Jayawickrama

Australia squads: Test: Pat Cummins (captain), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

ODI: Aaron Finch (captain), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

T20I: Aaron Finch (captain), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner.

Australia tour of Sri Lanka

T20 Schedule:

June 7: 1st T20, Colombo

June 8: 2nd T20, Colombo

June 11: 3rd T20, Kandy.

ODI schedule

June 14: 1st ODI, Kandy

June 16: 2nd ODI, Kandy

June 19: 3rd ODI, Colombo

June 21: 4th ODI, Colombo

June 24: 5th ODI, Colombo

Test schedule

June 29-July 3: 1st Test, Galle

July 8-12: 2nd Test, Galle

Australia A matches

June 8: 1st one-day game, Colombo

June 10: 2nd one-day game, Colombo

June 14-17: First-class tour match Hambantota

June 21-24: First-class tour match, Hambantota.

Active filters

Recent Posts

Pin It on Pinterest

LKR Sri Lankan rupee