Home   |    News
October 17, 2022
All 12 Major League Tournament matches hampered by rain

Sri Lanka Cricket

Ten of the 12 SLC Major League Tournament matches ended in no decisions with two games being abandoned due to the torrential rains during the weekend. At Kurunegala Kurunegala YCC scored 155 for 6 against Colts CC in Group A match with Asitha Wanninayale top scoring with 66 followed by Asantha Basnayake 29 and Dhanushka Dharmasiri 17, At SLAOCICI Stadium Ace Capital CC declared the innings on 192 for 4 against Badureliya SC in Group B with Oshada Fernando hitting 113. Nimal Kadam made 41. Badureliya’s Chalana de Silva took 3 for 94. Badureliya SC responded with 65 for 2 with Dunith Jayatunga unbeaten on 29 and Vishara Fernando making 23. In Group B at Bloomfield grounds Tamil Union shot out Bloomfield for 107 and responded with a score of 215 with Supun Kavinda top scoring with 59. Ramesh Nirmal made 54 and Sadeera Samarawickrama 26. Lahiru Madushanka took 3 for 34. Bloomfield was 28 for 1 in the second innings.

Leo Franscisco hit 103 in BRC’s 262 against Sebastianites in Group A at BRC grounds. Tillekeratne Sampath made 62 and Sachintha Peiris 35. Tharusha Fernando claimed 7 for 92 and Sachitha Jayatilake 2 for 15. Sebastianites was on 162 for 9 with Sachitha Jayatilake top scoring with 51.,Tharusha Fernando was unbeaten on 22 while Shashrika Pussegolla made 21. Tillekeratne Sampath took 4 for 33 and Sachintha Peiris 2 for 53. In Group A at Thurston College grounds Kandy Customs CC was dismissed for 160 by SSC which responded with 134 for 4. Kandy Customs run getters were Nuwanidu Fernando 35, Lakshitha Marasinghe 35, Manoj Sarathchandra not out 23 and Nipun Dhananjaya 23. Umega Chathuranga took 2 for 51 and Sachithra Perera 2 for 27. In Group B at Welisara Army SC scored 271 against Navy SC on centuries by skipper Lakshan Edirisinghe who made an unbeaten 123 and Mahesh Kumara 111. Navy was on the receiving end shot out for 106 and following on 11 for 3-, Kaumal Nanayakkara 5 for 46 and Lakshan Edirisinghe 3 for 25 were Army’s wicket takers in Navy’s first innings while Nanayakkara had 2 for 11 when Navy followed on. In Group B at Katunayake Panadura SC ran up 300 for 9 declared versus Negombo CC which in turn was reduced to 75 for 4 . Panadura’s top scorer was Nimesh Vimukthi 59 with other contributors being Abishek Gupta 43, Koshan Danushka 38, Roshan Wijenayake 39 and Shanaka Dulaj 20. Negombo’s highest was 24 by Dilshan Munaweera followed by Jatin Saxena 19. Nimesh Vimukthi took 2 for 38. In Group A Police SC scored 222 for 4 against Lankan CC declared on Heshan Dhanushka’s 101 not out with Supun Madushanka making 45 and vNadeera Balasooriya 31. Lankan CC lost 2 wickets for 3 runs. In Group B Moore grounds Nugegoda Welfare Sports Club declared on 177 for 4 versus Saracens SC who was on 19 for no loss. Rumesh Buddika top scored for Nugegoda with an unbeaten 57 followed by Martaza Trunkwala 49, Dilhara Polgampola 33, Ranitha Liyanarachchi 20 and Karan Mendis 14 not out. Sandun Mendis took 2 for 53-

Active filters

Recent Posts

Pin It on Pinterest

LKR Sri Lankan rupee