Home   |    News
December 13, 2022
Colombo Stars Angelo Mathews brute unbeaten 73 off 38, but Jaffna Kings prevail by 6 runs

Sri Lanka Cricket

Colombo Stars skipper Angelo Mathews cameo unbeaten 73 off just 38 in a heave of 2 over the top and 8 across was the closely fought out high point that went Jaffna Kings way that unfortunately fell short of the final flourish of his attempted six off the final delivery off James Fuller that galvanised into a dramatic showdown from the hopelessness of 5 for 37 when he took strike at the Pallekelle International Cricket Stadium in the night 10th encounter of the Lanka Premier League 2022 on Monday night. That Mathews lit up the contest from the doldrums of Colombo Stars of 67 for 7 after 12.2 overs did illustrate the hectic transformation his stroke play infused to ending up the typical lone warrior in a lost cause as the Colombo Stars responded with 172 for 8 off 20 to Jaffna Kings 178 for 5 off 20. James Fuller’s 2 for 32 was to fetch him the Player of the Match award.

Mathews found great support from Englishman Benny Howell who struck 43 off 20 in adding 90 for the eighth wicket.Taking first lease, Jaffna Kings reached king sized proportions of 142 for 4 after 17.2 overs on a defining fourth wicket bonding of 57 between Sadeera Samarawickrama who made 32 off 25 with and Shoaib Malik an unbeaten 35 off 26 having come together with the score on a wobbly 85 for 3 after 10.5 overs. Skipper Thisara Perera provided the final sparkle with a 13-ball 29 with 3 boundaries and a six.

CHIEF SCORES: Jaffna Kings 178/5 (20 Overs) (Shoaib Malik n.o. 35, Avishka Fernando 32, Sadeera Samarawickrama 32, Thisara Perera 29, Ashan Randika 27, Rahmanullah Gurbaz 17, Benny Howell 2/37, Naveen-ul-Haq 1/28, Dominic Drakes 1/53) Colombo Stars 172/8 (20 Overs) (Angelo Mathews n.o. 73, Benny Howell 43, Dominic Drakes 14, James Fuller 2/32, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth 2/32, Thisara Perera 1/31, Asitha Fernando 1/31, Mahesh Theekshana 1/32)

Active filters

Recent Posts

Pin It on Pinterest

LKR Sri Lankan rupee