Home   |    News
March 10, 2023
New Zealand 162/5 as Sri Lanka lead by 193

Sri Lanka Cricket

By Srian Obeyesekere

Sri Lanka led New Zealand by 193 runs pinning the hosts to 162 for 5 wickets on a first innings leash of 355 with its pace trio of Lahiru Kumara 2 for 34, Asitha Fernando 2 for 42 and Kasun Rajitha 1 for 38 performing a fine job on the second day of the first test at the Hagley Oval at Christchurch on Friday. Sri Lanka’s innings ended adding 40 to the overnight 305 for 6 with Dhananjaya de Silva, who was on 39, adding just 7 and Kasun Rajitha adding 6 to his overnight 16 as New Zealand’s bowlers made light of the rest of the Lankan batting.

Asitha Fernando struck for Sri Lanka sending back Devon Conway for 30 plumb leg before wicket with New Zealand on 67- Three runs later Lahiru Kumara struck claiming the prize wicket of Kane Williamson whom he had caught by Dimuth Karunaratne for 1 and followed up by removing Henry Nicholas for 2 who was caught by Rajitha as New Zealand lost 3 wickets for 76 in 31 overs. But the hosts fought back through a fourth wicket resilience of 58 between Tom Latham who made 67 off 144 balls hitting 7 boundaries and Daryl Mitchell who was unbeaten on 40 off 89 with 2.boundaries and a six.

The partnership was broken by Asitha Fernando who bowled Latham for his second wicket as New Zealand reached.134 for 4 in 50-1 overs. Sri Lanka found a fifth success when Kasun Rajitha had Tom Blundell caught behind by Niroshan Dickwella for 7 to reduce the hosts to 151 for 5 after 58 overs before Michael Bracewell joined Mitchell in taking New Zealand through to stumps.

CHIEF SCORES:: Sri Lanka. 355 (92.4 Overs) (Dhananjaya de Silva 46, Kasun Rajitha 22, Prabath Jayasuriya 13, Tim Southee 5/64, Matt Henry 4/80, Michael Bracewll 1/17) New Zealand 162/5 (63 Overs) (Tom Latham 67, Daryl Mitchell n.o. 40, Devon Conway 30, Michael Bracewll n.o. 9, Lahiru Kumara 2/34, Asitha Fernando 2/42, Kasun Rajitha 1/38)

Active filters

Recent Posts

Pin It on Pinterest

LKR Sri Lankan rupee