Home   |    News
March 5, 2023
Wanindu Hasaranga 5/44, Lahiru Samarakoon 4/60 run through Galle despite Wellalage’s unbeaten 52

Sri Lanka Cricket


By Srian Obeyesekere

Wanindu Hasaranga de Silva bowled Dambulla to the National Super League 2023 championship title by 75 runs grabbing four wickets at a cost of 30 runs for a second innings haul of 5 for 44 as Galle was dismissed for 182 in the final at the Galle International Cricket Stadium on Sunday. resuming from an overnight 93 for 5 .

It took Dambulla just 21 overs to put the finishing touches despite a resolute unbeaten 52 by Dunith Wellalage as Hasaranga hastened his side to the title in capping a fine all-round performance to go with his cameo 95 in the first innings. Lending great support with the ball was pacie Lahiru Samarakoon who took the penultimate day honours with a 3-wicket take in decimating Galle’*s frontline.

Galle’s overnight pair of Pathum Mahesh Kumara and Dunith Wellalage started cautiously adding 32 in taking Galle to a heady 125, but Hasaranga broke the sixth wicket partnership when he had the dour Kumara caught by Liyanarachchi for 36 as Galle lost two wickets in the space of six balls with no addition to the score slipping to 125 for 7 with Samarakoon sending back Suminda Lakshan for a duck with Hasaranga taking the catch. Wellalage continued to resist from one end but Hasaranga got on top running through the rest of the batting with the last resistance of Kavisha Anjula ending on 27. Samarakoon ended with figures of 4 for 60.

CHIEF SCORES: Dambulla 248 & 196 Galle 187 & 182 (Dunith Wellalage n.o. 52 , Pathum Mahesh Kumara 36, Kavisha Anjula 27, Wanindu Hasaranga de Silva 5/44, Lahiru Samarakoon 4/60, Ashan Priyanjan 1/42).

Active filters

Recent Posts

Pin It on Pinterest

LKR Sri Lankan rupee