Home   |    News
April 5, 2023
New Zealand draws level by 9-wicket win

Sri Lanka Cricket

Srian Obeyesekere

New Zealand coasted to a 9-wicket win over Sri Lanka propelled by a blistering unbeaten 79 off 43 balls by opening batsman Tim Seifert in the second T20 played at the University Oval in Dunedin on Wednesday to level the 3-match series 1-all.

Put into bat Sri Lanka totaled 141 in 19 overs losing their way from 91 for 3 after 11.2 overs when Kusal Janith Perera fell for 35 and when Dhananjaya de Silva followed seven deliveries later for 37 off 26 inclusive of 3 boundaries and 2 sixes. Perera’s 32-ball knock contained 2 boundaries and a six.  Charith Asalanka made 24 off 19 with 2 sixes being eighth out with the score on 140 as the tail lasted just one run. Skipper Dasun Shanaka made 7 off 8 as Sri Lanka reached 122 for 5 with his dismissal after 15.3.  As it was, only four Lankan batsmen reached double figures against the wily Kiwi attack spearheaded by pacer Adam Mline who returned fantastic figures of 5 for 26. Asalanka was eighth out with the score 140 after 18.2 overs as the tail was polished off for the addition of one run.

New Zealand’s openers Seifert and Chad Bowes set about the target with consummate ease putting on 40       off 3.2 overs, and following the exit of Bowes, who had dominated the partnership hitting 7 boundaries before Kasun Rajitha took him out caught by Wanindu Hasaranga, Seifert got into top gear taking charge in a flow of sixes. He started by hoisting Pramod Madushan and two off Rajitha before launching into Wanindu Haranga and Dhananjaya de Silva. The 26-year old dominated the unfinished second-wicket partnership of 106 with skipper Tom Latham’s contribution just 20 off 30 with a solitary boundary.    


Sri Lanka 141 (19 Overs) 

(Dhananjaya de Silva 37, Kusal Janith Perera 35, Charith Asalanka 24, Kusal Mendis 10, Adam Mline 5/26,          Ben Lister 2/26, Neeshan 1/20, Rachin Ravindra 1/24, Henry Shipley 1/25)

 New Zealand 146/1 (14.4 Overs)

(Tim Seifert n.o. 79, Chad Bowes 31, Tom Latham 20, Kasun Rajitha 1/26)

Active filters

Recent Posts

Pin It on Pinterest

LKR Sri Lankan rupee