Home   |    News
August 18, 2023
Wanindu Hasaranga Player of the Match 6/9 magic as B Love Kandy dump Jaffna Kings – Mohammad Haris a cameo 79, Dinesh Chandimal 41

Sri Lanka Cricket

By Srian Obeyesekere

The magical all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga de Silva came up with an extraordinary match winning lead from the front 6 for 9 captain’s role in B Love Kandy knocking out Jaffna Kings by 61 runs in yesterday’s decisive eliminator in staying on course to making it to the finals of the Lanka Premier League at the R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium.

The leggy was simply unplayable in his decimation of three times winners of the title and reigning champions that took him just 3.2 overs as the Kings folded up for 127 in 17.2 overs in defending a high-class total of 188 for 8 off 20 in the night contest.  

Put into bat, Kandy offset the 1 for 1 Fakhar Zaman second ball duck by a 68-run spurt off 45 balls between Mohamed Haris, who struck a cameo 79 off 49 powered by 4 over the top and 8 to the ropes, and Dinesh Chandimal 41 off 24 inclusive of 6 boundaries and a six. The telling onslaught typified Kandy’s all-round depth in the culminative canter that took Hasaranga’s charges a step away from the finals when they face off with yesterday’s losers Galle Titans to Dambulla Aura. It was highlighted by the brilliant innings by the 22-year old Pakistani Haris who has enjoyed a thumping form run in the tournament fresh from leading the Emerging Pakistan team to the Emerging Team’s Asia Cup championship title. Former Lankan captain Chandimal was equal to the task in ascending a poor form run to delivering in the decisive game. 


B Love Kandy 188/8 (20 Overs)

(Mohamed Haris 79 49 8 4, Dinesh Chandimal 41 24 6 1, Wanindu Hasaranga 19 11 02, Kamindu Mendis 17 13 1, Asif Ali 15 13 01, Sahan Arachchige n.o. 1, Isuru Udana n.o.1, Nuwan Thushara 4/40, Maheesh Theekshana 2/37, Asela Gunaratne 2/41)

Jaffna Kings 127 (17.2 Overs)

(Chris Lynn 19 19 3, Rahmanullah Gurbaz 19 10 12, Shoaib Malik 31 23 31, David Miller 26 20 02,  Maheesh Theekshana 15 14, 3, Wanindu Hasaranga de Silva 6/9, Sahan Arachchige 1/23, Nuwan Pradeep 1/24, Mujeeb Ur Rahman 1/45) 

Active filters

Recent Posts

Pin It on Pinterest

LKR Sri Lankan rupee