Home   |    News
January 26, 2024
Rare honour for Chamari Athapaththu named ICC captain of the year of World Women’s T20 and ODI teams; Dimuth Karunaratne named in ICC Men’s World Test team

Sri Lanka Cricket

By Srian Obeyesekere

Chamari Athapaththu, Sri Lanka Women’s captain of both formats of instant cricket, has been bestowed with the rare honour of being named captain of the year 2023 by the International Cricket Council of both the World ODI and T20 women’s cricket teams respectively. This singular recognition has roundly earned Sri Lanka fame by the ICCs decision which was arrived by evaluating the overall performances of women’s cricketers in the ICC fold across the world.

Meanwhile, the naming of former Sri Lanka men’s captain Dimuth Karunaratne to the world men’s test team has also proved to be a rare honour for the former captain and country. The world men’s test team is captained by

What propelled Chamari Athapaththu to this two-fold recognition n word cricket by the keepers of world cricket was the Sri Lanka women’s captains sterling performances when she struck 68 off only 50 balls against South Africa at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in defeat the Proteas by 3 runs as well as her explosive 80 off 47 balls against New Zealand in a home T20 encounter in registering a historic win for Sri Lanka. Chamari reached the peak of her career in the series thrashing inflicted on the England Women’s team in their own backyard in a historic landmark T20 series achievement. In the year gone by the Lankan captain aggregated 470 runs in the T20 format averaging 130.91 in becoming the highest women’s run getter in the world hitting a record 15 sixes.

Her ODI run aggregate last year amounted to 415 runs from 8 outings averaging 69.16. A significant feature in that stunning run last year was capped in the home series against New Zealand by her breathtaking unbeaten 108 off 83 balls inclusive of 5 sixes and 19 boundaries, and unbeaten 140 off 80 in the final game inclusive of 9 sixes and 13 boundaries.


Chamari Athapaththu (Sri Lanka, Capt.), Beth Mooney (wk) (Australia), Laura Wolvaardt (South Africa), Hayley Matthews (West Indies), Nat Sciver-Brunt (England), Amelia Kerr (New Zealand), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Ash Gardner (Australia), Deepti Sharma (India), Sophie Ecclestone (England), and Megan Schutt (Australia).

 ICC WORLD WOMEN’S ODI TEAM:Chamari Athapaththu (Sri Lanka, Capt.), Phoebe Litchfield (Australia), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Amelia Kerr (New Zealand), Beth Mooney (wk) (Australia), Nat Sciver-Brunt (England), Ash Gardner (Australia), Annabel Sutherland (Australia), Nadine de Klerk (South Africa), Lea Tahuhu (New Zealand), Nahida Akter (Bangladesh).

 ICC MEN’S WORLD TEST TEAM: Pat Cummins (Capt, Aus), Usman Khawaja (Aus), Dimuth Karunaratne (SL), Kane Williamson (NZ), Joe Root (Eng), Travis Head (Aus), Ravindra Jadeja (Ind), Alex Carey (WK, Aus), R. Ashwin (Ind), Mitchell Starc (Aus), Stuart Broad (Eng). (ICC media release)

Active filters

Recent Posts

Pin It on Pinterest

LKR Sri Lankan rupee