Home   |    News
March 7, 2024
Bangladesh wins by 8 wickets to level series – Skipper Skipper Najmul Hossain Shanto Player of the Match 53 n.o.

Sri Lanka Cricket

By Srian Obeyesekere

Bangladesh coasted to a comfortable 8-wicket triumph finishing it off on 170 for 2 wickets with 11 deliveries to spare chasing down Sri Lanka’s 165 for 5 to level the 3-match series 1-all at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium yesterday.

Skipper Najmul Hossain Shanto struck a Player of the Match unbeaten 53 off 38 filled with 4 boundaries and Towhid Hridy unbeaten on 32 off 25 with 2 boundaries sharing in an 87-run alliance for the third-wicket after the Bangladesh bowlers had done well to restrict the Lankans to an achievable target.

The hosts were given the right tonic upfront 68-run start start off 41 balls by Litton Das 36 off 24 (5×4) and Soumya Sarkar 26 off 22 (5×4).

Kamindu Mendis top scored for the Lankans hitting a quickfire 37 off 27 inclusive of 3 boundaries and 2 sixes following a 1 for 1 bad start when Avishka Fernando again failed with the bat falling for a duck having faced 7 balls offering a return catch to Taskin Ahmed. Together with Kusal Mendis 36 off 22 with 3 sixes and 2 boundaries Kamindu added 66 for the second wicket off 42, but Bangladesh grabbed three wickets for 25 runs grabbing back the initiative as Kusal Mendis was caught behind off Sarkar after 8.4 overs and Kamindu Mendis was run out by a throw from Mahedi Hasan and  in the space of  claiming the Mustafizur Rahman caught and bowled Sadeera Samarawickrama for 7 as the visitors slipped to 92 for 4 after 12.2 overs. Skipper Charith Asalanka struck 28 off 14 sending 3 over the top and 1 to the boundary before being bowled by Mahedi Hasan which left Angelo Mathews 32 off 21 with 4 boundaries and Dasun Shanaka 20 off 18 with a six and boundary apiece in an unfinished 53-run stand for the sixth-wicket off 25.


Sri Lanka 165/5 (20 Overs)

(Kamindu Mendis 37, Kusal Mendis 36, Angelo Mathews n.o. 32, Charith Asalanka 28, Dasun Shanaka n.o. 20, Soumya Sarkar 1/5, Taskin Ahmed 1/38, Mahedi Hasan 1/39, Mustafizur Rahman 1/42)

Bangladesh 170/2 (18.1 Overs)

(Najmul Hossain Shanto n.o. 53, Litton Das 36, Towhid Hridoy n.o. 32, Soumya Sarkar 26,  Matheesha Pathirana 2/28)

Active filters

Recent Posts

Pin It on Pinterest

LKR Sri Lankan rupee