Home   |    News
March 12, 2024
Pavan Rathnayake a fitting champagne unbeaten 118 as Dambulla defeats Kandy by 19 to retain NSL title

Sri Lanka Cricket

By Srian Obeyesekere

Pavan Ratnayake struck a fitting champagne Player of the Final century stroking an unbeaten 118 inclusive of 10 boundaries and 3 sixes to steal the limelight as Dambulla defeated Colombo by 19 runs on a 332 for 4 leverage to retain the National Super League Limited Overs Tournament title at the R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium on Sunday. He shared in a 160-run third wicket partnership with Sanoj Dharshika who made a run a ball 73 inclusive of 4 boundaries and 4 sixes. Skipper Minod Bhanuka set the ball rolling with an upfront sparkling 69.

Kandy’s 313 revolved around Kamil Mishara’s 94 and Lahiru Udara 86 whileWanuja Sahan chipped in with an unbeaten 44, but fell short of stretching the distance to the victory post.

Meanwhile, Janith Liyanage of Jaffna took the top Player of the Tournament award while Kandy’s Lahiru Kumara took the Best Bowler of the Tournament plum while Shehan Fernando of Team Galle was adjudged the Best Batsman.


Dambulla 332/4 (50 Overs)

(Pavan Rathnayake n.o. 118, Sanoj Darshika 73, Minod Bhanuka 69, Lasith Croospulle 36, Ayana Siriwardana 21, Pulina Tharanga 2/68)

Kandy 313 (45.3 Overs)

(Kamil Mishara 93, Lahiru Udara 86, Wanuja Sahan n.o. 44, Ayana Siriwardana 3/58, Dushan Hemantha 3/63, Mohammed Shiraz 2/42)

Active filters

Recent Posts

Pin It on Pinterest

LKR Sri Lankan rupee