Home   |    News
April 22, 2024
Selectors focused to fixing No.7 pinch hitting slot ahead of T20 World Cup

Sri Lanka Cricket

By Srian Obeyesekere

With the days ticking to world cricket’s most exciting action packed T20 format World Cup showpiece scheduled to take off on June 1, Sri Lanka’s selectors are focusing on plugging the key No.7 pinch hitting slot in the batting, it is reliably understood.

A selector, speaking under anonymity said that they were closely monitoring the performances of batsmen on the form book of the 4-day national super league tournament which will be followed by three practice matches ahead of naming the final squad for the world cup to fixing the No.7 slot which is a key area in the abbreviated slap bang version of the game.

A concern has been that yet the right candidate hasn’t dawned where former captain Dasun Shanaka, despite a running form slump, yet remains the most potential batter to manning the slot in respect of going over the top in the slog overs.

concern national selectors headed by chairman of selectors, Upul Tharanga, have made an interesting move in naming explosive batsman, Bhanuka Rajapaksa and young leg spinner Vijayakanth Viyaskanth who has made an impact in Lanka Premier League tournaments along with promising all-rounder Lahiru Madushanka in the 32-member provisional T20 squad in view of this year’s T20 World Cup.

The T20 World Cup 2024, held every two years now, will be held in the Caribbean and the United States of America (USA). The USA coming into the cricketing picture is said to have already generated a through the roof excitement to the extravaganza which promises to be one of a kind.

A through the roof exciting build up is on the cards with the upcoming edition promising to be one of a kind. The United States of America getting into the picture as co-hosts to the West Indies has added to the growing interest where the game will be showcased for the first time in its history in a country little known for cricket taking top billing for ICC trophy stakes.

England are the current reigning champions having won the previous edition in 2022 while hosts West Indies, are the only other team to have won the T20 World Cup twice.

Sri Lanka won the trophy in 2014 defeating India by 6 wickets scoring 132 for 4 with Kumar Sangakkara scoring an unbeaten half century in reply to India’s 130 for 4 at Mirpur, India on April 6.


Active filters

Recent Posts

Pin It on Pinterest

LKR Sri Lankan rupee