Home   |    News
May 4, 2024
Galle win NSL title by 7 wickets – Oshada Fernando 77, Lakshan Edirisinghe 56

Sri Lanka Cricket

By Srian Obeyesekere

Galle made it a champagne dream title winning the National Super League 4-day Tournament final against Kandy by 7 wickets in only 27.4 overs with opening batsman Oshada Fernando leading the way with a brisk 77 off 84 balls at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium.  Lakshan Edirisinghe was equal to the task with a run a ball 56 as the pair added 93 for the second wicket in that victory thrust.

Galle pocketed the Rs.5 million besides the coveted trophy while runners-up Kandy received a Rs. 2.5-million.

Galle skipper Ramesh Mendis, who struck a timely century in the final, was adjudged the Man of the Final.

Sonal Dinusha of Dambulla was the Player of the Tournament.

Oshada Fernando and Pasindu Sooriyabandara, who missed the final doing national duty for Sri Lanka A, were adjudged the best batsmen of the tournament while Kandy’s Wanuja Sahan, was adjudged the best bowler.

Sri Lanka Cricket’s Head of National Cricket Operations, Chinthaka Edirimanne, was the Chief Guest.


Kandy 316 & 163 

Galle 304 & 178/3 

(Oshada Fernando n.o. 77, Lakshan Edirisinghe 56, Dhananjaya Lakshan 17, Vishad Randika n.o. 14, Nimsara Atharagalle 1/34, Ashian Daniel 1/43, Pulina Tharanga 1/33)


Active filters

Recent Posts

Pin It on Pinterest

LKR Sri Lankan rupee