Home   |    News
June 25, 2024
Chamika Karunaratne lashes 48 n.o. as NCC outwit Colts, Pasindu and Ramesh 32 each as Moors SC stop Ace Capital

Sri Lanka Cricket


By Srian Obeyesekere

NCC and Moors SC swept to the semifinals of the Major Club T-20 Cricket Tournament yesterday. NCC outwitted Colts CC by 11 runs on the DLS while Moors SC stopped Ace Capital CCs giant run bringing down their opponents by 6 wickets in their respective quarter final matches.

Leading NCC to victory was that gung-ho all-rounder Chamika Karunaratne belting an undefeated 48 off 31 balls sending 4 over the top and 2 to the ropes to reaching the rain affected revised target 130 in 15.3 overs to finishing it off on 140 for 6 wickets off 15.3 at the SSC Grounds.

Niroshan Dickwella was equal to the task smashing 25 with support roles from Lahiru Udara 22, Kamil Mishara 17, and Chamika Gunasekara unbeaten on 10. It negated Colts opening batsman, Yasodha Lanka’s cameo 77 off 45 balls thumping 6 sixes and an equal number of boundaries and Dinesh Chandimal’s 38 in that vain attempt.

Moors romped to 115 for 4 in 18.5 overs in overhauling Ace Capital’s 111 for 9 with Pasindu Sooriyabandara and Ramesh Mendis firing unbeaten knocks of 32 apiece with support roles by Dinuka Dilshan 24 and Sohan de Livera 14 at the P. Saravanamuththu International Cricket Stadium.

Meanwhile, the Bloomfield versus CCC quarter final was abandoned without a ball being bowled yesterday.


At SSC Grounds – NCC beat Colts CC by 11 runs (DLS method)

Colts CC 170/9 (20 Overs) (Yasodha Lanka 77, Dinesh Chandimal 38, Sanoj Dharshika 21, Chamika Karunaratne 2/28, Matheesha Pathirana 2/19, Lasith Embuldeniya 2/22)

NCC (Revised target 130 in 15.3 Overs) 140/6 wickets in (15.3 Overs) (Chamika Karunaratne n.o. 48, Niroshan Dickwella 25, Lahiru Udara 22, Kamil Mishara 17, Chamika Gunasekara n.o. 10, Sanoj Dharshika 3/17, Akila Dhananjaya 2/18,)

At P.Saravanamuththu International Cricket Stadium – Moors SC beat Ace Capital CC by 6 wkts. Ace Capital CC 111/9 (20 Overs) (Pawantha Weerasingha 48,Nimasara Atharagalla 10, Ravindu Ratnayake 30*, Dinuka Dilshan 3/6, Ramesh Mendis 2/14)

Moors SC 115/4 (18.5 Overs) (Pasindu Sooriyabandara n.o. 32, Ramesh Mendis n.o. 32, Dinuka Dilshan 24, Sohan de Livera 14)



Active filters

Recent Posts

Pin It on Pinterest

LKR Sri Lankan rupee