Home   |    News
June 9, 2024
Sri Lanka collapse again in 2-wicket loss to Bangladesh

Sri Lanka Cricket

By Srian Obeyesekere

Sri Lanka suffered their second successive defeat yesterday in the 2024 T20 World Cup at the hands of Bangladesh by two wickets following another pathetic batting display by the frontline bar Pathum Nissanka 47 and 21 from Dhananjaya de Silva at Texas’ Grand Prairie Stadium in Dallas. Bangladesh reached the target by the 19th over with No.3 Litton Das and No. Towhid Hridoy 40 digging out the side from a shaky 28 for 3 after 5.2 overs by adding a fighting 63 runs for the fourth wicket off just 38 balls.

The Lankans raised hopes as Bangladesh lost the next four wickets for the addition of 22 runs reaching 113 for 8 after 17.4 when skipper Wanindu Hasaranga broke the partnership trapping Hridoy and went on to send out Das too in similar fashion 14 deliveries later as Nuwan Thushara, who accounted for opener Tanzid Hasan clean bowling him for 3, going on to pick 3 more and Matheesha Pathirana 1, Dhananjaya de Silva having accounted for the other opener Soumya Sarkar caught by Hasaranga for a duck.

But Mahmudullah stood firm with an unbeaten 16 off 13 (1×6) with Tanzim Hasan Sakib on 1 off 4 as the ninth wicket pair saw Bangladesh through.

The Lankan batting as against South Africa was badly exposed crashing from a healthy 70 for 3 after 8.5 overs following the exit of Pathum Nissanka who struck an emphatic 7 boundaries and a six in a 28-ball blitz as he put on 21 for the first wicket with Kusal Mendis 10 and 27 for the next with Kamindu Mendis just a boundary. Dhananjaya de Silva 21 off 26 (1×4) and Charith Asalanka 19 off 21 with a six then added 30 for the fourth wicket off 32 balls as Sri Lanka reached 100 for 4 after 14.1 when Asalanka exited. But the rut set in with Hasaranga falling in the very first ball for a duck with only Angelo Mathews making 16 off 19 with a solitary boundary in the 124 for 9 by the 20th over.

Mustafizur Rahim was the pick of the Bangladesh bowlers claiming 3 for 17 including the prize wicket of Nissanka, Kamindu Mendis and Mheesh Theekshana while Rishad Hossain was as spot on with 3 for 22 and Taskin Ahmed 2 for 25.


Sri Lanka 124/9 (20 Overs) RR: 6.20

(Pathum Nissanka 47, Dhananjaya de Silva 21, Charith Asalanka 19, Angelo Mathews 16, Kusal Mendis 10, Mustafizur Rahim 3/17, Rishad Hossain 3/22, Taskin Ahmed 2/25)

Bangladesh 125/8 (19 Overs) RR: 6.57

(Towhid Hridoy 40, Litton Das 36, Mahmudullah n.o. 16, Taskin Ahmed n.o. 1, Nuwan Thushara 4/18, Wanindu Hasaranga 2/32, Dhananjaya de Silva 1/11, Matheesha Pathirana 1/27)

Active filters

Recent Posts

Pin It on Pinterest

LKR Sri Lankan rupee